BREAKING: PDP Senators Stage Walkout As Ondo Senator Defects To APC

Senator Yele Omogunwa representing Ondo South
The Senate chamber minutes ago erupted in chaos on Wednesday, November 30, 2016 with lawmakers belonging to the opposition party Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, staging a walkout.
Trouble started when Senator Yele Omogunwa representing Ondo South announced his defection from PDP to the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC.

Senator Omogunwa is one of two APC senators was caught with a fake ballot box filled with fake ballot papers thumb printed for the APC during the just concluded governorship poll in Ondo State.
But as opposition members kicked and boycotted plenary, APC lawmakers were happy to receive Omogunwa and gave him a rousing and noisy welcome.
The PDP senators, led by senate minority leader, Godswill Akpabio, walked into one of the conference rooms to address journalists on the development.
That, however, did not stop proceedings on the floor of the Senate as Labour Party Senator Ovie Omo-Agege temporarily assumed the position of minority leader.
Ondo Poll: Omogunwa And Alasoadura Caught Rigging
As voting was closing in most of the polling units in Ondo State on Saturday, November 26, 2016, two senators of the All Progressives Congress, APC from Ondo State, Tayo Alasoadura and Yele Onogunwa, are making frantic efforts to swap stuffed INEC ballot boxes with fake ones filled with fake ballot papers in order to rig the on-going governorship elections in the southwestern state.
According to a source with direct knowledge of the situation, Senators Olasoadura and Onogunwa, made separate attempts to swap the ballot boxes before the counting commences.
But for the vigilance of agents of the political parties at the polling centres, the senators may have succeeded because, “the INEC officials were willing to co-operate with them”, a source told our report.
Senator Onogunwa recently decamped from the People’s Democratic Party, PDP to APC.
Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC was declared the winner of the poll by the returning officer, Abdul Ambali, a university professor with a total of 224,842 votes to defeat 27 other candidates.
culled from TheTrent.
Spread the love by sharing


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.