Buhari Appoints 209 Board Chairmen, Returns Old Associates

President Muhammadu Buhari in one fell swoop on Friday
appointed 209 board chairmen and 1,258 members of government owned agencies and
parastatals, redeeming a part of the pledge he made 31 October at the National
Executive Committee meeting of his All Progressives Congress.
More appointments are on the way, said Mr. Boss
Mustapha, secretary to the Government of the Federation, who announced the
massive batch of appointees.
At the APC NEC meeting, President Buhari also hinted
he would expand his cabinet by appointing more ministers.
The latest appointments, the largest President Buhari
ever made since 2015, saw Mallam Wada Maida, a former editor-in-chief and
managing director of The News Agency of Nigeria, returning as its chairman.
Appointed as one of the board members is Mr. Isa Abba Adamu.
Maida, a former press secretary to Buhari when he was
Nigeria’s military ruler between 1984 and 1985, is at present the Chairman
board of directors of Peoples Media Limited. He retired from the agency in
2003. He was the agency’s managing director from 1994, after a long spell as
editor-in-chief, from 1985. He joined NAN as a pioneer editorial staff in 1978
and was at various times, the political editor and London Bureau Chief.
In other appointments, rolled out by Boss Mustapha,
Mr. Dapo Abiodun, Chairman of Heyden Petroleum, who contested for the
senatorial seat of Ogun East in the 2015 election was named as the new chairman
of Corporate Affairs Commission.
Many big wigs of the APC were similarly appointed.

the whole list here:
Board Chairmen and

The party’s legal adviser, Muiz Banire is now the
chairman of the Asset Management Company of Nigeria(AMCON). Senator Olorunimbe
Mamora is the chairman of Abuja Investment and Infrastructure Centre.
The party’s secretary, Mai Mala Buni, is the chairman
of the Shippers Council. Malam Bolaji Abdullahi, the publicity secretary of the
party is in charge of the National Sugar Development Council(NSDC).
Demola Seriki, a former minister of state for defence
is the chairman of the National Maritime Academy of Nigeria in Oron. Former
Speaker House of Representatives, Patricia Olubunmi Etteh is the new chairman
of the National Hospital, Abuja. A former deputy speaker, Chibudom Nwuche is in
charge of Federal Medical Centre Lokoja.
Dr. Leke Pitan, a former commissioner for health in
Lagos, under Asiwaju Bola Tinubu was appointed chairman of National
Agricultural Extension Research Liaison Services in Zaria. Teju Philips, also a
former Lagos commissioner is the chairman of Federal College of Agriculture,
Ibadan. Pastor Yomi Kasali will head the Nigerian Christian Pilgrims
Chief George Moghalu is the chairman of the Nigerian
Communications Satellite(NIGCOMSAT). General John Shagaya is the chairman of
National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies, Kuru Jos.
Former governors of Ekiti state, Otunba Niyi Adebayo
and Engineer Segun Oni were also named as chairmen. Adebayo is in charge of
Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria(FAAN). Oni who is a vice-chairman of the
APC has been posted to Nigerian Export Processing Zone. while Senator Ayo
Arise, a recent kidnap victim will chair Sheda Science and Technology Complex.
Former deputy governor of Plateau state, Pauline
Tallen is the new chairman of National Agency for the Control of
Former deputy governor of Ondo state, Alhaji Ali
Olanusi, will chair the Benin-Owena River Basin Development Authority, while a
former deputy governor of Lagos, Femi Pedro is the chairman of Small and Medium
Enterprise Development Agency of Nigeria.

Timi Alaibe, former Managing director of the Niger
Delta Development Commission, is heading to Oil and Gas Free Zone Authority as
According to Boss Mustapha, all the appointments take
immediate effect.
The ministers under whom the agencies fall, have been
asked to constitute the boards immediately.
Said Mustapha: ” Mr. President considered the approval
for the constitution of the Boards as well as the appointments, very necessary,
so as to provide a proper Governance and oversight structure for Government
Agencies and Parastatals.
“The constitution of the boards with the appointments,
is a demonstration of this Government’s efforts aimed at building strong
institutions of Governance, and by extension, improving the quality of Policy
formulation and supervision”, he added.

Follow us on Twitter at @mediaparrotng 
Copyright 2017 MEDIAPARROTNG. Permission to use portions of this article is granted provided appropriate credits are given to www.mediaparrotng.com and other relevant sources
Share your story with usSMS: +234705 2286737 Whatsapp:+234705 2286737 Email: mediaparrotng@gmail.com
Spread the love by sharing


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.